DANCE ON pilot project: New CREATIONS for dancers aged 40+

What would it be like if exceptional dancers didn’t retire at 40 but continued showing their great art on stage?

The image of dance is stamped with the extraordinary ability of young dancers. There are almost no choreographies that are suitable for the changed physical conditions of older dancers and very few dance companies that employ dancers aged over 40. This is a loss for dance and society, as experienced, mature dancers are especially capable of reaching the intellectual and emotional depths of choreographic material. Their radiance and impressive interpretative powers expand the audience’s dance experience by a key dimension.

DANCE ON
creates a unique perspective on the development and presentation of this artistic potential. Internationally renowned choreographers and artists will be working with dancers from the project ensemble to create DANCE ON 1st EDITION, a basic repertoire of works for dancers aged over 40. The productions will tour nationally and internationally and reach a large audience. The cross-generational educational programme DANCE ON LOCAL, which will accompany the performances on the road, will generate sustainable socio-political stimuli in the local area.

DANCE ON will create strong alliances with co-production partners – on an national and international level, anmong them Theater im Pfalzbau Ludwigshafen, Kampnagel Hamburg, tanzhaus nrw, Berliner Ensemble, Sadlers Wells London, Holland Dance Festival, Festspielhaus St. Pölten, Belgrade Dance Festival, and ADC - Association pour la Danse Contemporaine Genève. These alliances will ensure the DANCE ON concept is implemented sustainably and make an active contribution to establishing a dance repertoire 40+.

The DANCE ON concept is currently in its pilot phase, which will last for four years. It has an accompanying research programme and will be evaluated at the end of the term. DANCE ON RESEARCH enriches the largely undeveloped body of research for Dance and Age with scientifically evaluated knowledge gained from the project.

In 2016 the Creative Europe-funded large scale cooperation project DANCE ON, PASS ON, DREAM ON was launched, bringing together nine partner organisations from eight European countries to address the problem of ageism in the dance sector. DIEHL+RITTER is the lead partner and project coordinator, and DANCE ON plays a central role within the project.

DANCE ON is funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media and co-funded by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union as part of DANCE ON, PASS ON, DREAM ON.

Pilotprojekt DANCE ON: Tanzrepertoire für Tänzer 40+

Was wäre, wenn herausragende Tänzer nicht mit 35 Jahren aufhören würden, auf der Bühne ihre große Kunst zu zeigen?

Das außerordentliche Leistungsvermögen junger Tänzer prägt das Bild des Tanzes. Es gibt kaum Choreografien, die den veränderten physischen Bedingungen älterer Tänzer gerecht werden, und nur wenige Kompanien, die Tänzer über 40 beschäftigen. Dies ist ein Verlust für den Tanz und die Gesellschaft: Denn erst erfahrene, reife Tänzer haben die Fähigkeit, die geistige und emotionale Tiefe des choreografischen Materials zu erschließen. Mit ihrer Ausstrahlung und eindrücklichen Darstellungskraft bereichern sie das Tanzerleben der Zuschauer um eine ganz wesentliche Dimension.

DANCE ON schafft eine einzigartige Perspektive für die Entfaltung und Präsentation dieses künstlerischen Potentials. International renommierte Choreografen erarbeiten gemeinsam mit den Tänzern des Projektensembles die DANCE ON 1. EDITION und schaffen damit einen Grundstock von Werken für ein Repertoire 40+. Die erarbeiteten Werke sollen später anderen Tänzern die Chance eröffnen, ihre Kunst zu zeigen, und das Repertoire der Kompanien für ältere Tänzer erweitern. Die DANCE ON-Produktionen werden auf Tournee geschickt und erreichen so ein großes Publikum. Mit dem generationsübergreifenden Vermittlungsprogramm DANCE ON LOKAL werden begleitend zu den Gastspielen nachhaltige gesellschafts-politische Impulse vor Ort gesetzt.

DANCE ON generiert starke Allianzen: Dazu gehören nationale und internationale Koproduktionspartner, wie Theater im Pfalzbau Ludwigshafen, Kampnagel Hamburg, tanzhaus nrw, Berliner Ensemble, Sadlers Wells London, Holland Dance Festival, Festspielhaus St. Pölten, Belgrade Dance Festival, ADC - Association pour la Danse Contemporaine Genève uvm. Sie sind die Garanten für eine nachhaltige Implementierung der Idee und tragen aktiv dazu bei, das Tanzrepertoire 40+ zu etablieren.

Das Konzept von DANCE ON wird sich in einer 4-jährigen Pilotphase erproben, wissenschaftlich begleitet und anschließend evaluiert werden. DANCE ON RESEARCH bereichert das weitgehend unerschlossene Forschungsgebiet zu Tanz und Alter um die im Projekt gewonnenen, wissenschaftlich ausgewerteten Erkenntnisse.

Das vom Programm Kreatives Europa der Europäischen Union geförderte große Kooperationsprojekt DANCE ON, PASS ON, DREAM ON wurde 2016 ins Leben gerufen. Neun bedeutende Tanzinstitutionen aus acht europäischen Ländern setzen sich darin mit dem Problem der Altersdiskriminierung im Tanz und in der Gesellschaft auseinander. Mit DIEHL+RITTER als leitendem Projektpartner steht DANCE ON im Zentrum dieser europäischen Kooperation.

DANCE ON wird gefördert von der Bundesbeauftragten für Kultur und Medien und kofinanziert durch das Programm Kreatives Europa der Europäischen Union im Rahmen von DANCE ON, PASS ON, DREAM ON.