The Kulturstiftung des Bundes launched TANZFONDS ERBE and TANZFONDS PARTNER in 2011 after the Tanzplan Deutschland initiative came to an end. Madeline Ritter, the former director of Tanzplan Deutschland, and Ingo Diehl, the former director of Tanzplan’s educational programme, designed the content of the funds. The not-for-profit company they founded, DIEHL+RITTER, is the agency in charge of Tanzfonds. Ms Ritter is its project director.

Tanzfonds Erbe

Fund for artistic projects on the cultural heritage of dance

From 2011–2019, the Dance Heritage Fund supported projects that engaged with the cultural heritage of dance in Germany. A total of 60 projects all over Germany received funding, enabling artists to research the significance of dance history today from a range of unique perspectives and using a wide variety of formats, from films to websites, symposia and stage productions. The artists were free to choose the topics they wished to explore and were not required to use a particular approach, such as historical reconstruction. Many projects deliberately distanced themselves from historical and archival sources or embodied memories, creating contemporary responses instead.

During their in-depth research, the selected artists consulted many different archives and collaborated with experts and researchers. In the process, they also helped to clarify copyright issues. For audiences, their artistic output revealed a vibrant history of dance, which had previously only been known to a small number of experts. Productions became part of the repertory and programming of all participating theatres and dance companies. A touring fund for Dance Heritage Fund productions was established in 2014 to increase the works’ visibility both nationally and internationally.

One of the fund’s missions was to make the results of its work accessible to audiences and researchers in the long term. All projects were therefore filmed and the documentations published in a digital archive, tanzfonds.de. The video material produced as part of the Dance Heritage Fund forms an extensive and diverse body of knowledge, enhanced with detailed commentary. The films are accessible for a lay audience, while still offering quality and depth for professional dance artists and scholars. It was partly this aspect of the project which led to it being awarded the European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage/Europa Nostra Award in 2016. For the first time ever, the jury recognised dance as European cultural heritage, on a level with conservation and museum projects.

When the DANCE HERITAGE FUND came to an end after nine years in 2019, the Akademie der Künste Berlin, German Federal Cultural Foundation and DIEHL+RITTER held a joint symposium entitled “Was der Körper erinnert. Zur Aktualität des Tanzerbes“ (What the body remembers. On the topicality of dance heritage). The accompanying reader “Das Jahrhundert des Tanzes” (The Century of Dance) was published by the Akademie der Künste and DIEHL+RITTER.
 

Tanzfonds Partner

FUNDING FOR PARTNERSHIPS BETWEEN DANCE INSTITUTIONS AND SCHOOLS

TANZFONDS PARTNER was funding 12 partnerships between dance institutions and general education schools across Germany, each project lasting several years. The aim was for school children to experience the art form of dance as part of everyday theatre life – and to do so at the highest artistic level.

The key aspect of the initiative was the opening up of theatres and dance institutions for school children: rather than individual artists making flying visits to schools, it was about school children visiting artists as and where they rehearse. In working with the dancers, school children learned about and value artistic methods and the working conditions in the context of a cultural institution.

The co-operation between experienced dancers and choreographers with young people from different social backgrounds also provided artists with new experiences. They encouraged and taught, brought their knowledge into the institution and generated the audiences of the future.

www.tanzfonds.de

Nach dem Ende des Tanzplan Deutschland initiierte die Kulturstiftung des Bundes 2011 die beiden Fonds TANZFONDS ERBE und TANZFONDS PARTNER. Verantwortlich für die inhaltliche Konzeption waren Madeline Ritter, die ehemalige Leiterin von Tanzplan Deutschland und Ingo Diehl, der ehemalige Leiter des Ausbildungsbereichs von Tanzplan Deutschland.
 

Tanzfonds Erbe 

Fonds für künstlerische Projekte zum Kulturerbe Tanz

Von 2011 – 2019 förderte TANZFONDS ERBE künstlerische Projekte, die sich mit dem Kulturerbe Tanz in Deutschland beschäftigten. Bundesweit wurden 60 Projekte unterstützt, mit denen Künstler*innen in sehr unterschiedlichen Formaten – von Ausstellungen über Filme, Webseiten und Symposien bis hin zu Bühnenproduktionen – und mit sehr persönlichen Zugängen die Bedeutung des Tanzerbes heute bearbeiteten. Die Wahl des Sujets war ihnen dabei freigestellt. Die künstlerische Aneignung des Tanzerbes war dabei nicht nur auf die historisch werkgetreue Rekonstruktion beschränkt. Viele Projekte suchten bewusst den historischen Abstand von archivarischen Quellen und Körpergedächtnis für zeitgenössische Aktualisierungen.
Die geförderten Künstler nutzten unterschiedlichste Archive für ihre fundierten Recherchen, arbeiteten eng mit Experten zusammen und trugen darüber hinaus zur Klärung urheberrechtlicher Fragen bei. Die künstlerischen Ergebnisse dieser Prozesse eröffneten dem Publikum den Zugang zu einer lebendigen Tanzgeschichte, die zuvor nur einigen wenigen Experten vorbehalten war. Die entstandenen Produktionen wurden Spielplan-Elemente der beteiligten Theater und Kompanien. Eine 2014 eingerichtete Gastspielförderung für TANZFONDS ERBE Projekte unterstützte zudem die überregionale Sichtbarkeit der Werke.
Um die Ergebnisse des Fonds nachhaltig zu sichern und auch zukünftig Publikum und Wissenschaft zur Verfügung stellen zu können, wurden die Förderprojekte filmisch dokumentiert und im digitalen Archiv www.tanzfonds.de zugänglich macht. Die im Rahmen von TANZFONDS ERBE entstandenen Videomaterialien stellen ein aufwändig aufbereitetes und diverses Wissen zur Verfügung. Die Filmdokumente ermöglichen einen niedrigschwelligen Zugang, ohne Abstriche bei der inhaltlichen Qualität zu machen. Nicht zuletzt dieser Aspekt hat 2016 zur Verleihung des European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage/Europa Nostra Award geführt. Die Jury hat damit zum allerersten Mal das Tanzerbe als Europäisches Erbe anerkannt – gleichauf mit Projekten der Denkmalpflege und Museumspraxis.
Zum Abschluss der neunjährigen Arbeit von TANZFONDS ERBE realisierte die Akademie der Künste, Berlin in Kooperation mit der Kulturstiftung des Bundes und DIEHL+RITTER im August 2019 die Veranstaltungsreihe „Was der Körper erinnert. Zur Aktualität des Tanzerbes“. Der begleitende Reader „Das Jahrhundert des Tanzes“ wurde in gemeinsamer Herausgeberschaft von der Akademie der Künste und DIEHL+RITTER publiziert.
 

Tanzfonds Partner

Fonds für Partnerschaften zwischen Tanzinstitutionen und Schulen

TANZFONDS PARTNER förderte im Zeitraum 2011-2014 deutschlandweit zwölf mehrjährige Partnerschaften zwischen Tanzinstitutionen und allgemeinbildenden Schulen. Die Kunstform Tanz war für Schülerinnen und Schüler im Rahmen des realen Theaterbetriebs erlebbar und erfahrbar – und zwar auf höchstem künstlerischem Niveau.

Entscheidend war die Öffnung der Theater und Tanzinstitutionen für die Schüler: Nicht einzelne Künstler gingen auf pädagogische Stippvisite in die Schulen, sondern die Schüler suchten die Künstlerinnen und Künstler an ihren Proben und Wirkungsstätten auf. So lernten sie künstlerische Methoden und Arbeitsbedingungen im Kontext einer Kultureinrichtung kennen – und wertschätzen.

In Zusammenarbeit zwischen erfahrenen Tänzern und Choreografen mit jungen Menschen aus verschiedenen sozialen Milieus machten auch die Künstler neue Erfahrungen. Sie leisteten Überzeugungs- und Vermittlungsarbeit, trugen ihre Erkenntnisse in die Institution hinein und gerierten das Publikum der Zukunft.


www.tanzfonds.de